BRUNEI STUDIES COLLECTION
Brunei Studies collection was established as the Special Collection Unit within UBD Library in 1985. Brunei Studies Collections consists of materials about Brunei Darussalam on various aspects published locally and overseas. They are available in a variety of format such as books, journals and magazines, annual reports, conference papers and proceeding, theses/ dissertations, newspapers articles, maps and non-book materials such as audio/video recordings, CD/VCD and microfilms.
The materials can be identify as:
- Brunei Collection (KBru)
- Brunei Journals Collection (KBruS)
- Brunei Reference Collection (KBruR)
- Brunei Multimedia Collection (KBruCd, KBruAc, KBruVc)
- Theses Collection (KTes)
- UBD Publications Collection (KUbd)
- Newspaper Collection
- Past Year Examination Papers
Brunei studies Collections have limited copies.Therefore, we encourage you to communicate to us regarding which books that require further copies and to be updated. Please write in details of the book(s) in the logbook provided in the counter desk.
Manuscript and Rare Collection Loan Regulations Policy
Use of Rare Books and Old Manuscripts
A letter of permission to chief librarian to use the materials at the Brunei Studies Collection by giving a complete personal detail
- A letter of permission to use the materials must be shown to the staff at Brunei Studies Collection Service Desk prior to usage
- Users of these materials will be required to sit at the special area near the Brunei Studies Service Desk.
- Only pencil allowed to be brought to the special area
- The use of the these items is restricted to research only and cannot be photocopied
- Use of materials will be closely monitored by the library staff.
Loan transaction should be undertaken through the Brunei Studies Collection Service Desk.
For normal loan users may borrow out items from the open collection based on their loan entitlement and the duration is as follows:
- Academic staff 30 days
- Students 14 days
- External members 14 days
All the collections listed below can be used in house only.
- The first copy of each title ,
- First set of multi-volume materials,
- Serials coded with KBruS and KUbdS,
- Reference Materials coded with KBruR,
- Theses coded with KTes,
- Legal Deposits coded with KBPU,
- Past Years Examination Papers,
- Mapscoded with KBruMp,
- Multi Media materials coded with KBruVc, KBruAc, KBruCd,
- Rare Books coded with KNad,
- Old Manuscripts coded with KMan.